Guided tour - Stjernsund Castle. Only in Swedish
Just south of Askersund, beautifully situated on a headland in the strait that connects Lake Alsen with Lake Vättern, is Stjernsund Castle. It is built in a strict neoclassical style with rare well-preserved interiors from the 1850s when the castle was owned by the royal Bernadotte family.
The history of the castle goes back to the 17th century when Johan Oxenstierna - hence the name Stjernsund - built a mansion that was completed in 1664.
In 1785, mill owner Olof Burenstam bought the estate and started a grand new construction. The new Stjernsund, with clean, lightly plastered facades and four magnificent columns at the entrance as the only decoration, was completed in 1808. He also built a park in the English landscape style. Between 1823 and 1860, Stjernsund was owned by the Bernadotte family. King Carl XIV Johan used the castle as a regular place to stay during his trips to Norway. His grandson Prince Gustaf, the 'singer prince', commissioned a thorough redecoration of the castle in 1848-1852. Stjernsund today boasts one of the richest and best-preserved interiors from the mid-19th century. After Prince Gustaf's death, his brother Prince August took over the castle and had the billiard wing decorated in the new style of the time. In 1860, the estate was bought by the Cassel family, who developed a model farm there, known for its cattle breeding and as a breeding ground for Swedish red-brown cattle (SRB). The castle's last private owner, Mrs. Augusta Cassel, died in 1951 and bequeathed Stjernsund Castle, its furnishings and the park to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Vitterhetsakademien. In 1965, Stjernsund Palace and its park were declared a listed building under the Cultural Heritage Act.
An exhibition on Prince Gustaf is displayed in the Prince's Wing and an exhibition on the history of the park in the orangery. The castle shop has a selected and to some extent unique range of products, such as copies of objects in the castle. The café serves delicious lunches, sandwiches and pastries, all in a stunning waterfront setting.
A tour of the castle takes about 50 minutes.
Thursday-Sunday May 18 - June 25
daily June 26 - August 6 and August 12-13
Closed on Midsummer's Eve.
Guided tours at 11, 12, 14 and 15.
Castle shop open 10.30 - 17.00.
If the seats on Göta Kanal are fully booked, you can call the castle directly for reservations, 070-679 32 31.